Adding nodes to node-red

Home Forums Conduit: AEP Model Adding nodes to node-red

Tagged: ,

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    Chad Goyette
    Participant

I am looking for the procedure to adding nodes to node-red. Could someone either explain the procedure or direct me to documentation that explains how to do this on the conduit?

Lawrence Griffiths
    Participant

Are you installing nodes manually or via npm?

If manual just drop files to /opt/node-red/nodes
    And re-start node red from admin

BTW: Node-red log is /var/volatile/log/app/node-red.log

Chad Goyette
    Participant

At the moment i am not installing nodes because i am unsure of the proper way to do it (I am new to this). I have installed nodes on a windows machine using npm but i couldn’t find information on how to do it on the conduit. Is there documentation that you can point me to that describes this process?

Chad Goyette
    Participant

If I am using npm is there a specific folder I should be in when I run the command?

Jeff Hatch
    Keymaster

Chad,

I don’t think it matters where you run the command if you specify the –prefix argument when you run it. That will put node or node module wherever you specify.

Jeff

wojtek t
    Participant

very weird, but i am missing npm command after upgrade to 1.1.2….

Lawrence Griffiths
    Participant

@wojtek Alas NO don’t know why the MAJOR omission?
    Let’s hope we get an good answer.

What I’ve done for 1.1.2 is copy custom nodes to: /opt/node-red/node/nodes/
    And had to edit /var/config/app/install/development/.config.json to include nodes into the pallet. I’m not sure this last step is necessary but it worked for me.

Lawrence

Lawrence Griffiths
    Participant

@wojtek update to previous

just copy custom node & discrepancies to /opt/node-red/node/nodes/
    And restart device. A node-red re-start doesn’t seem to pic up new nodes.

wojtek t
    Participant