iCell – Any issues using Reset Pin on a regular basis…

Home Forums General iCell – Any issues using Reset Pin on a regular basis…

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Rick Reynolds
    Participant

I remember reading somewhere that the Reset Pin (hardware reset) should only be used in an emergency. What exactly does this mean? Is there an issue with repeatedly using the reset pin? By repeatedly I mean possibly several times within a 24 hour period. See my scenario below and you’ll understand why I’m asking.

I have been using the SocketCell modems for about three years. We are implementing a second generation of our embedded device and I would like to move us to the iCell line of socket modems.

We had an issue early on with iCell because we couldn’t run in DLE mode as our data would constantly shut down the TCP connection. And, the +++ string to cancel the data connection does not work on the iCell modems.

We have since added access to the modem Reset Pin in order to perform a hardware reset of the modem. This allows me to close the data connection from software without having to worry about DLE mode issues. I am using #PERSISTENTSOCKET and #AUTOCONNECT and get a reconnect very quickly after reset. If I want to perform actions on the modem after reset I simply disable the #PERSISTENTSOCKET function, do my business and then re-enable it. Works great! I really like this functionality as well as the FTP functions for remote software update.

Rick Reynolds
    Participant

Just for clarification… When I referenced SocketCell modems I’m refering to the SocketCell Cell products as opposed to the iCell products.

Darrik Spaude
    Keymaster

Hi Rick,

The main reason for concern regarding the hardware reset first of all depends on the type of radio (CDMA versus GSM/HSPA), second is in regard to the radio hardware itself, and third is in regard to what the carrier approves.