Reset Button Behavior for AEP

CAUTION: Before using the RESET button, read this section carefully in order to understand the different behaviors and their results. If not, some users may accidentally lose all changes and additions to the device including applications and configurations.

The behavior of the Conduit AEP reset button is unique. The mts-io kernel module and reset-monitor process handle the reset button behavior. The kernel module keeps track of the time elapsed when pressing the button.

The time elapsed during a button press determines the action implemented. There are three different modes based on the corresponding time elapsed during a reset button press. These modes include:

  1. System Reboot -Short press (less than 5 seconds) — the system just reboots
  2. User Defined Defaults – Long press (5 to 30 seconds) — the device configuration changes to user defined defaults and it reboots. ***CAUTION: The Factory DefaultsĀ are used if User Defined Defaults have not been previously set. See Factory Defaults.***
  3. Factory Defaults — Extra long press (greater than 30 seconds)– the device configuration reverts back to factory defaults.
    CAUTION: Setting the device back to factory defaults removes ANY user changes previously saved on the device including:

    • Custom Applications
    • User Defined Defaults
    • Node-Red Applications
    • All user configuration changes that deviate from factory defaults

On AEP, for a short press a SIGHUP is sent to the reset-monitor. For a long press, a SIGUSR1 is sent to the rest-monitor. For an extra long press, a SIGUSR2 is sent to the reset monitor. These are not the hard-coded defaults, but are set on boot by the AEP watchdog process. On the AEP Conduit, the reset monitor process is the watchdog process.

Conduit AEP Rest Button (Behavior and Results) Table

Mode Press Time (seconds) Behavior Result(s)
System Reboot Short less than 5 s Device reboots Any unsaved changes are lost.
User Defined Defaults* Long 5 – 30 s Changes device configuration to user defined defaults Any current configuration settings that deviate from user defined defaults are lost. CAUTION: If User Defined Defaults have not been set, then the device reverts to Factory Defaults. See results below.
Factory Defaults Extra long Over 30s Reverts device configuration back to factory defaults CAUTION: All of the following items are deleted/removed from the device:

  • Custom Applications
  • User Defined Defaults
  • Node-Red Applications
  • All user configuration changes that deviate from factory defaults

*User Defined Defaults must be previously configured on the device for this mode to work. If not, the device automatically reverts to Factory Defaults.