rCell – multiple users and weird design choices

Home Forums General rCell – multiple users and weird design choices

Tagged: 

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Steve van der Burg
    Participant

I’m just getting started with my company’s rCell 100. We have three more on order and I plan to make a pool of four of them to spread the load when doing mass SMS to staff as part of a notification system.

After getting everything going on a dev server, I am successfully logging into the REST service and saving the token that I get back. Yesterday I copied my code to what will become our production server and to my surprise the login code failed. The REST service gave back a “user is logged in from a different IP address” error.

This is the latest in a bunch of bizarre design choices that I have seen in the auth/authz for this server’s REST service. First of all, this is a _server_, and as such should expect to be contacted from lots of devices on the network all at once. Tying a user/login to an IP address is just the wrong thing to do.

Can we get this fixed?

Thanks,
    …Steve

p.s. I just saw this thread rCell 100 keeps forgetting users and although that looks like it could help me here (I could create one user for dev, one for prod, etc), if the users don’t persist across reboots they’re not that useful.

Jeff Hatch
    Keymaster

Steve,

Actually, this behavior is quite common (not wanting the same user to be logged in from two IPs) on a lot of products. For instance, gmail will notify you when you log in from an IP that it doesn’t recognize. The key is to log out from the first IP when you are finished with your request. See:

http://www.multitech.net/developer/software/mtr-software/mtr-api-reference/rcell_api_requests/logging-out/

On the other hand, MTR 4.0 that is going to be released in Q1 will have multiple user support, so you can create multiple users that will persist in the MTR API database.

Jeff

Steve van der Burg